Sweet and Spicy Grilled Wings

I have been grilling the heck out of chicken wings recently.  I have been trying a few different tweaks and feel like I have a real SOLID technique going on.

IMG_2682

I am grilling the wings with indirect high heat.  I use a large chimney full of lit charcoal banked on the left side of the grill.

IMG_2667

I coat the wings in peanut oil and salt then place them on the right side of the grill.

IMG_2669

The peanut oil really helps the skin get crispy.  Here is what the wings look like after about 30 minutes.

IMG_2671

After the wings have grilled for 45 minutes I take them off the grill and toss them in a bowl with a mix of 3 parts hot sauce to one part honey.  The wings then go back on the grill.

IMG_2673

Let the wings grill for another 15 minutes so the sauce can set and the honey does a little charring.

IMG_2681

These are delicious!  You can change up the hot sauce to suit your heat level and can switch out the honey with agave nectar if you prefer a low glycemic sweetener.

I am sure I will get tired of eating these wings eventually.  But that won’t be happening anytime soon.

IMG_2676

 

Leave a Reply

