Ribeye Steak with Chimichurri Sauce

I never thought I would put a green sauce on a perfectly cooked steak.  In hindsight I can’t believe I waited this long to try!

I finally decided to make an Argentinian chimichurri sauce. Argentina is one of the beef capitals of the world.  I figured that if they like this with their steaks then there must be something good about it!

Ribeye with Chimichurri

I started with a ribeye steak that had been seasoned with salt and pepper.

Ribeye with Salt and Pepper

I grilled it up properly over high heat on my Weber.

To get the grill marks I grilled the steak for three minutes then rotated the steak by 45 degrees and grilled for another three minutes.  The steak was flipped and grilled a final three minutes to finish cooking (Medium).

Grilled Ribeye Steak

While the steak was grilling I whipped up a batch of chimichurri sauce.  The ingredients are listed below.  You will need an immersion blender to bring the sauce together.

Chimichurri Sauce

  • 1 cup parsley
  • 2 tablespoon oregano
  • 2 tablespoon basil
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 tablespoon garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Chimichurri Sauce

I was nervous when I put something that green onto such a beautiful steak.  I was afraid I was going to waste a perfectly fine piece of beef!

Close up of steak

My fears were unfounded.  The chimichurri sauce was an AMAZING compliment to the grilled ribeye.

The sauce was fresh, flavorful and extremely bright.  The sauce actually “lightened” the beef and made me want to keep eating more even after I was full.

The Argentinians had a great idea with this sauce.

I had quite a bit of chimichurri sauce left over and used it as a marinade for some chicken.  I will report on that experiment soon!

Leave a Reply

